On 7 January 2010, the Norwegian Government appointed a broad-based independent committee to undertake a thorough, research-based review of the EEA Agreement.

The mandate of the Committee called for a comprehensive and thorough review of the political, legal, administrative, economic and other social consequences of the EEA Agreement. Moreover, the Committee was asked to review Norway’s experience of the Schengen Agreement and other cooperation and association arrangements between Norway and the European Union. 

The Committee’s work was presented in an official report on 17 January 2012. The report will be subject to public consultation and will form part of the basis for a report (white paper) to the Norwegian parliament (Storting).

The 900-page report is extensive, and covers all aspects of Norway’s relations with the EU. The following is an English translation of the first chapter. It gives a brief overview of the Committee’s main findings and presents the main contents of the different parts and chapters. The complete report is available only in Norwegian. A translated version of the summary of the report is available here. There are plans to translate additional excerpts of the report into English at a later stage.

The EEA Review Committee consisted of the following members:

– Fredrik Sejersted (Chair), Professor of Law, Head of the Centre for European Law, University of Oslo

– Liv Monica Bargem Stubholt (Deputy Chair), Investment Director, Aker ASA, Oslo

– Frank Aarebrot, Professor, Department of Comparative Politics, University of Bergen

– Lise Rye, Associate Professor, Department of History and Classical Studies, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim

– Dag Seierstad, expert on EU/EEA matters, Lillehammer

– Helene Sjursen, Research Professor, Centre for European Studies (ARENA), University of Oslo

– Fredrik Bøckman Finstad, lawyer at the law firm Thommessen AS, Oslo

– Kate Hansen Bundt, Secretary General of the Norwegian Atlantic Committee, Akershus

– Karen Helene Ulltveit-Moe, Professor, Department of Economics, University of Oslo

– Jonas Tallberg, Professor, Department of Political Science, Stockholm University, Sweden

– Jon Erik Dølvik, head of research at the research foundation Fafo, Oslo

– Peter Arbo, Associate Professor, Norwegian College of Fishery Science, Tromsø

The secretariat of the Committee was chaired by Ulf Sverdrup, Professor at the Norwegian School of Management (BI) and Senior Researcher at ARENA, University of Oslo.